November 1: It’s almost New Years

40 to 45% of American adult make one or more resolutions each year.

The following shows how many of these resolutions are maintained as time goes on:

– past the first week: 75%
– past 2 weeks: 71%
– after one month: 64%
– after 6 months: 46%

Via ProActive Change.com

I know it isn’t January 1st but November 1st will do just fine right?  All those stats just to say “sorry I haven’t been around for awhile”.  I am obviously in the 54% of people that have a hard time resolving to something, in my case, this blog.

No, I have not stopped trying to reduce our debt.

No, I have not done a good job of reducing our debt recently.

Yes, We did hit a rough patch – our car died.

Yes, I have been busy being a wife, mom, freelancer, volunteer and employee.

Nope – I’m not giving up!  I can not be taken down that easily!

One of the hardest things about reducing debt is staying on track.  Like many other things it SOUNDS like a good idea (and let me assure you it IS a good idea) but the follow through is always a little harder than you anticipated.

One of my son’s favorite books for months was Sputter, Sputter, Sput.  It’s about a car that runs out of gas, gets gas and keeps going.  “I put more gas into my car. Glug, Gurgle, Glug.  It makes my car go very far. Zoom, Vroom, Zoom”.

Sputter: August 19th – I began to lose my focus.  I made a mistake, it was costing me dearly and I lost my focus.

Sputter: September.  I had not yet fixed my problem from August.  I was still giving away much more time than I actually had.

Sput: Our car died.  Money coming out of the emergency fund, husband’s overtime slowing down, just general surrender.

*****

Glug: Getting a car.  This is happening this week.  With all the money accounted for and details taken care of.

Gurgle: Time.  I have backed out of several volunteer commitments and have my work time under control.  Not having a car helped me put a few things in perspective.

Glug: Retreat.  My husband took my kids for 2 days and I went away.  I had time to rest, collect my thoughts, and start new.

*****

Zoom: Today.  I’m not starting over I’m just moving ahead.

Vroom: The Plan:  Right now I am focused on rebuilding our savings from buying a car and making sure all our holiday purchases are made.

Zoom: January 2011.  Getting this show back on the road.  I’m still working on it but think maybe, just maybe 2011 will be the year where we do some big time conquering!

Come back soon as I outline GLUG and VROOM for you!

~ by Rachael Judd on November 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
