Turning Down Money!

Turning down money? Maybe!

*gasp* I know – why would I turn down money.  We all know I could use every extra cent I can get my hands on.

I have been presented with a job/side job opportunity and here are the details:

Pros:
$75/week 
(or $300/month or $3600/year)

My kids can come with me

My “boss” is someone I know

Cons:
11 hour day (so essentially $6.82/hr)

Start time (with kids on tow) is 6:30am 

My “boss” is someone I know

I am very pro about extra income and I am very willing to work for it.  However, as you may have noticed I put a high value on my family and on my friendships.

By dragging my kids out of bed extra early I am sacrificing their rest.  There are few things kids, especially kids as small as mine, need more than rest.

By working for someone I know that is both a friend and a peer I am putting our relationship on the line.  Although I am a hard worker, honest and have no doubt we would have a good employee/employer relationship, I also value the friendship and don’t want to put it at risk.

Lastly, the return for the effort is rather small.  My hourly rate for freelance work is more than the hourly return on this “gig”.  I would rather spend less hours working for equal or greater return.  The upside of this potential job vs. freelance work is stability.  Same day every week, same hours.

So what would you do.  In your journey to financial freedom what are you willing to give/do to be free?

~ by Rachael Judd on August 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
