Start spreading the news…

“Start spreading the news, I’m leaving today, I want to be a part of it…” – New York, New York

I often wonder about what other people are wondering about.  I do a lot of reading and a lot of research on things that interest me.  And THAT is why we decided to share our journey here.

I have done a lot of research on paying off debt.  I have some favorite places I go for encouragement like The Simple Dollar and Get Rich Slowly.  I even read Dave Ramsey and Warren Buffet.  I was looking for success stories and quick “how to’s”  and although I came across those things none of them really related to where we were.

We had chosen education and it landed us in a very tight spot.  Our breadwinner has a $100,000 education that landed him an hourly job.  He is working in his field, loves what he does, has opportunity for advancement and generous benefits.  In his field he is doing above average, we are so thankful he has the opportunity to do something he loves, especially in this economy.

However, we now have more debt in student loans then he will make in his first 3 years of employment.  Ouch!

In all my research I did not find a person who conquered the amount of debt that we have.  I think it is wonderful that people choose to pay of ANY amount of debt before it is due.  I get even more excited for folks that have paid 10’s of thousands off.  But even $20,000 seems so small compared to what we have.

So for those of you out there in  the $50k – $100k debt load hopefully this can be YOUR success story too!

~ by Rachael Judd on May 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
